The Castillo Morales® concept for doctors and therapists

is a comprehensive therapeutic concept for children and adults with communicative, sensorimotoric or orofacial defects.

On the basis of a differentiated way of considering the sensomotoric development in its influence on the functions and activity in the orofacial area Doctor Castillo Morales developed a treatment concept, which was received favourably here in Germany too and became well known – primarily in connection with the term "orofacial regulation therapy" (Castillo Morales, 1991). In this concept, emphasis was given in particular to the effects of posture and bodily movement on the head, neck and jaw positions and also on the activities of the mimic, oral and pharyngeal muscular system.

Mimic expressive ability and articulation as the most subtle and differentiated sensomotoric performance of our oralfacial muscular system is extremely important for our communication. A non-defective co-ordination of the oral and pharyngeal muscular system is essential to be able to eat and drink without difficulty. Also in the case of people with neurological or anatomically based functional defects these abilities are often adversely affected. In his concept of treatment Castillo Morales therefore focused in particular on the following therapeutic aspects:

  • Supporting the ability of the patients to communicate.
  • Enabling the patients to take part in normal life, even when eating and drinking.

Castillo Morales developed his concept of treatment primarily for people with muscular hypotonia and sensomotoric impairments. Nowadays it is used mainly for children and adults with one or more of a wide range of sensorimotor defects in the region of the face, mouth and throat, as for example

  • children with congenital, anatomically-based malformations in the region of the mouth (e.g. Pierre Robin Sequence (PRS), cleft lip-jaw-palate)
  • children with hypotonia, e.g. trisomy 21 (Down's syndrome) and other symptoms genetically  determined
  • prematurely born children having difficulties when drinking and eating
  • patients of all ages with neurological diseases accompanied by orofacial symptoms, e.g. neuromuscular diseases, cerebral palsy, resulting from skull-brain trauma or a stroke

This therapy requires exact knowledge of the functional anatomy, the sensomotoric development – in particular that of the  orofacial complex – and the interactions between these systems. Furthermore, conditions of the emotional, communicative and social development must be considered as well as criteria of the autonomous development.

By stimulation of two motor areas using vibration the muscular tone here is regulated in a functional starting position at the body of the therapist. This has favourable consequences on the orofacial complex.Proprioceptive experience is clarified by treatment techniques like manual vibration, pulling and pressing. The aim is to support the attention given by the child to what it undergoes and does, and also to provide it with trust and security in order to reinforce motivation to rise to new challenges. Motoric activities in the mouth and at the tongue can also be favourably influenced by activating the hands or feet. The supporting function of feet and hands as well as the child's visual orientation within its surroundings are used to stabilise its posture.

According to the principle "function and form interact upon each other" it is necessary to correct malformations as soon as possible, for example secondary malformations of the hard palate or tooth and jaw misalignments caused by primary orofacial functional defects. For his therapeutic methods of helping a patient to cope with or overcome a malformation or other form of handicap Castillo Morales originally used approaches learnt during his training as a rehabilitation specialist in Madrid when carrying out neurological examinations of children and newly born babies in the French school of André-Thomas and his students, when Castillo Morales modified these approaches in particular in their application to the orofacial region. His differentiated talent for observation, his highly concentrated manner and attentiveness when engaging his patients in a dialogue, which enabled him also to notice and interpret non-verbal signals made by the children, made him an exemplary investigator, therapist and teacher. For many years he maintained intensive contact with medical colleagues and therapists of different specialisms. He was always prepared to allow colleagues to observe his methods and to answer any questions they micht have. Furthermore , he was always ready to consider new therapeutic approaches and experience, the effects of which he could detect or observe. Instructional therapists feel they must emulate this attitude. The shared aim is to comprehend the personality of an individual and to match the treatment to the requirements of the patient and his attachment figure.

Author: Dr. Angelika Enders, Dr. von Haunersches Children's Hospital, University Hospital Munich

 

Selecting a Therapist Association Legal Information

Castillo Morales® Vereinigung e.V.
Forstweg 17
13465 Berlin
Tel: 030 - 80205197

Send an e-mail

Das Castillo Morales®-Konzept für Ärzte und Therapeuten

Das Castillo Morales®-Konzept ist ein umfassendes, neurophysiologisch orientiertes Therapiekonzept für Kinder und Erwachsene mit kommunikativen, sensomotorischen und orofazialen Störungen.

Dr. Rodolfo Castillo Morales hat dank seiner differenzierten Betrachtungsweise der sensomotorischen Entwicklung in ihrer Auswirkung auf die Funktionen und Aktivitäten im orofazialen Bereich ein Behandlungskonzept entwickelt, das auch hier in Deutschland Beachtung fand und primär unter dem Begriff „Orofaziale Regulationstherapie“ bekannt wurde (Castillo Morales, 1991). Besonders betont werden im Konzept die Auswirkungen von Körperhaltung und Bewegung auf die Position von Kopf, Nacken und Kiefer sowie auf die Aktivitäten von mimischer, oraler und pharyngealer Muskulatur.

Mimische Ausdrucksfähigkeit und Artikulation als feinste und differenzierteste motorische Leistung unserer orofazialen Muskulatur sind wesentlich für unsere Kommunikation. Eine ungestörte Koordination von oraler und pharyngealer Muskulatur ist essentiell, um problemlos essen und trinken zu können. Bei Menschen mit neurologischen oder anatomisch bedingten Funktionsstörungen sind diese Fähigkeiten häufig ebenfalls beeinträchtigt. In seinem Behandlungskonzept hat Castillo Morales deshalb den besonderen Fokus gerichtet auf die therapeutischen Schwerpunkte:

  • die Kommunikationsfähigkeit Betroffener zu unterstützen und
  • es ihnen zu ermöglichen, in gesellschaftlichem und sozialen Rahmen auch beim Essen und Trinken angemessen teilhaben zu können.

Sein Behandlungskonzept entwickelte Castillo Morales primär für Menschen mit muskulärer Hypotonie und sensomotorischen Beeinträchtigungen. Heute wird es vorrangig bei Kindern und Erwachsenen mit verschiedensten sensomotorischen Störungen im Bereich des Gesichtes, Mundes und Rachens angewandt, wie z.B. beispielsweise

  • Kindern mit angeborenen, anatomisch bedingten Veränderungen im Bereich des Mundes (z.B. Pierre-Robin-Sequenz, Lippen- Kiefer- Gaumen-Segel-Fehlbildung)
  • Kindern mit Hypotonie, z.B. bei Trisomie 21 (Down Syndrom) oder anderen genetisch bedingten Syndromen
  • Frühgeborenen Kindern mit Problemen beim Trinken und Essen
  • Patienten aller Altersgruppen mit neurologischen Erkrankungen mit orofazialer Begleitsymptomatik, wie z.B.: Neuromuskuläre Erkrankungen, Zerebralparesen, nach Schädel-Hirn-Trauma oder Schlaganfall.

Die Therapie setzt exaktes Wissen über die funktionelle Anatomie, die sensomotorische Entwicklung besonders des orofazialen Komplexes und die Wechselwirkung dieser Systeme voraus. Sie muss Bedingungen der emotionalen, kommunikativen und sozialen Entwicklung ebenso berücksichtigen wie die Kriterien der Autonomie-Entwicklung.

Über die Stimulation zweier motorischer Zonen mit Vibration wird hier der Tonus in einer funktionellen Ausgangsstellung am Körper der Therapeutin reguliert; dies hat positive Auswirkungen auf den orofazialen Komplex.Propriozeptive Erfahrungen werden durch Behandlungstechniken wie manuelle Vibration, Zug und Druck verdeutlicht. Es gilt, die Aufmerksamkeit des Kindes für sein Erleben und Handeln zu unterstützen, ihm Vertrauen und Sicherheit zu vermitteln, um somit die Motivation zu stärken, sich neuen Herausforderungen zu stellen. Motorische Aktivitäten im Mund und an der Zunge können auch durch Aktivierung der Hände oder Füße positiv beeinflusst werden. Die Stützfunktion der Füße und Hände sowie die visuelle Orientierung im Raum werden haltungsstabilisierend genutzt.

Nach dem Grundsatz „Funktion und Form bedingen sich wechselseitig“ gilt es frühzeitig, beispielsweise sekundären Veränderungen des knöchernen Gaumens oder auch Zahn-und Kieferfehlstellungen aufgrund primärer orofazialer Funktionseinschränkungen entgegenzuwirken Castillo Morales nutzte als therapeutisches Vorgehen zur Entwicklungsförderung ursprünglich Ansätze, die er im Rahmen seiner Ausbildung zum Rehabilitationsarzt in Madrid bei der neurologischen Untersuchung von Neugeborenen und Kindern in der französischen Schule von André-Thomas und dessen Schülern kennengelernt hatte und modifizierte diese insbesondere in der Anwendung auf den orofazialen Bereich. Seine differenzierte Beobachtungsgabe, die zugewandte Art, mit seinem Gegenüber in Dialog zu treten und die Achtsamkeit, mit der er gewohnt war, auch nonverbale Signale der Kinder zu respektieren, machten ihn zu einem vorbildlichen Untersucher, Therapeuten und Lehrer. Über lange Jahre stand er in regem fachlichen Austausch mit ärztlichen Kollegen und Therapeuten unterschiedlicher Fachrichtungen. Er ließ sich immer über die Schulter blicken, hinterfragen und war stets aufgeschlossen für neue therapeutische Sichtweisen und Erfahrungen, deren Wirksamkeit für ihn spürbar oder zu beobachten waren. Diesem Anspruch fühlt sich die Gruppe der Lehrtherapeuten ebenso verpflichtet. Gemeinsames Anliegen ist es, den Menschen in seiner Persönlichkeit zu erfassen und die Behandlungsschwerpunkte auf die Bedürfnisse des Individuums und seiner Bezugspersonen abzustimmen.

Autorin: Dr. Angelika Enders, Dr. von Haunersches Kinderspital, Klinikum der Universität München

 

Therapeutensuche Vereinigung Impressum Mitgliederbereich

Castillo Morales® Vereinigung e.V.
Forstweg 17
13465 Berlin
Tel: 030 - 80205197

E-Mail senden